I've been working for 1.5 years at the customer service when I had enough and decided to change. I read at the company's internal job site that they were looking for a 'junior trader'. The 'traders' as I mentioned before, are those who calculate the odds for the matches, control the inplay betting and evaluate the finished matches as well.


After a quick training I found myself in the middle of everything in front of six displays. I felt like at the HQ of NASA surrounded by the displays with diagrams and statistics. Usually I had to monitor 3 matches at the same time on TV, meanwhile thousands of bets were placed and I had to adjust the multipliers according to the stakes. The job looked really exciting and I did not know about how exciting and also rewarding it was going to be.


I've been doing this job for 3 months, sometimes in daytime sometimes in night-shift  (Asian, South American matches), when I went out one night with the other traders. We started in a pub nearby called Drews, then we rolled from pub to pub in the neighborhood. Around 11pm we started getting drunk so the storytelling started.


Peter offered suddenly to pay the drinks all night. I got a bit surprised because we were not earning so much that we could afford paying for everyone.  I was drunk enough not to start thinking about how could Peter afford that - all in all I was drinking and going with the flow...  It must have been around 3 am when we realized there were only three of us left : Peter, Joe and me, all the others left earlier. Joe could barely stand on his feet and decided to get home somehow. I could not keep my head raised. Peter thought I nodded so he pulled me out to the street and we got into taxi.


5 minutes later we were in the paradise on earth where hot, beautiful latin and eastern european girls were teasing and lap dancing around the dozens of poles. We were chilling for a while then Peter payed me a private lap dance, meanwhile he ordered a bottle of Laurent Perrier Rose champagne that was about £ 400 on the drink card.  At this point I really could not stand not to ask - What's happened? Did you win the lottery? - Peter replied with a smile - Almost J.


He did not want to tell where the money was coming from in the beginning but I got the answers I wanted. First he asked if I could remember when once I had a break and he had to go to the toilet because he had to pee like hell and asked me to take over three matches for two minutes. I remembered the situation of course. The truth is Peter said - that I found a match suspected of being fixed so I rushed out of the office and placed a larger bet on it using my smartphone. Of course I reported the match immediately after I bet on it to my boss who removed it from the site. -  I asked him how much money he bet on the match. - £ 5000 with a multiplier of 3.7x, that means I won £ 18500....-   I could only reply something like WTF.


Then I asked which match it was but he didn't tell it, anyway it doesn't count anymore since it is the past. I also asked where did he know from that the match was fixed. He said it was suspicious that 20 minutes before the match thousands of bets were placed on a particular result, so he dared to risk and won. Furthermore he explained what other signs do potentially fixed matches have.


From this point I could not think of anything else, I wanted to find a fixed match. Weeks passed by - nothing, months passed by and still nothing suspicious on the matches I monitored until suddenly it was there...
To be continued...


BookieSamurai


All informations in this blog derives from various interviews and betting materials. The author of this blog takes no
responsibility for any damage or loss of any reader. Bet within your limits!



Leave a Reply.